The New Seven Wonders of the World

New Seven Wonders of the World were chosen from a selection of 200 monuments all around the world. People from all over the world voted through telephone calls and internet for the selection of wonders and this voting led to announce the New Seven Wonders of the World winners on July 7, 2007 in Lisbon. The list is as follows:

1)      The Great Wall of China

2)      Christ the Redeemer

3)      Petra

4)      The Colosseum

5)      Chichen Itza

6)      Machu Picchu

7)      Taj Mahal

Additionally the Great Pyramid of Giza was awarded an honorary title being the only one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World present to date. The pictures of these wonders and a little description about these is stated below, I hope you find this informative.

1) The Great Wall of China

It is made up of stone, brick, tamped earth, wood and other materials. The wall is a series of buttresses built along east-to-west line across the historical northern borders of China. The primary purpose to built the wall were the defense purposes and to protect the Chinese Empire or its prototypical states against external intrusions. The wall has been built and rebuilt several times and maintained and enhanced. Several walls built in 7th century B.C were later joined and collectively called The Great Wall of China. The wall built by the first emperor of China Qin Shi Huang is more famous.

new seven wonders of the world

2) Christ the Redeemer, Brazil

It is a statue of Jesus Christ of 30 meters height (38 meters along with its pedestal). Its arms stretch 28 meters wide. It was completed on October 12, 1931. It is located at the peak of a 700 meter Corcovado mountain in Tijuca Forest National Park in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. It is made up of concrete and soap stone and weighs 635 tons.  The statue has become an icon of popularity all over the world and thus included in the New Seven Wonders of the World.

wonders of the world

3) Petra, Jordan

Petra also famous by the name of Rose City is a historical and archaeological city. Located in the southern Jordanian governorate of Ma’an the Rose city got this name due to the color of the stone out of which it is carved. The city is well known for rock cut architecture and water conduit system. The site was brought to international attention by Swiss explorer Johann Ludwig Burckhardt. UNESCO described Petra as “One of the most precious cultural properties of man’s cultural heritage”. It was possibly established as early as 309 B.C.

seven wonders of the world

4) The Colosseum, Rome

The Colosseum, built between 70 and 80 A.D, is an elliptical amphitheatre made up of concrete and stone. It is located in the center of the city of Rome, Italy. Being the largest amphitheatre not only in the Roman Empire but also the world it is considered one of the spectacular works of Roman Architecture. The amphitheatre was named “Flavius” in Latin after the family name of the Roman emperors who built it. The colosseum is too huge to easily hold 50,000 to 80,000 spectators.  The Colosseum is also depicted on the five-cent euro coin (on the Italian version).

7 wonders

5) Chichen Itza, Mexico

Chichen Itza is the Spanish name, meaning “at the mouth of the well of the Itza”, of the large pre-Columbian city in the Mexican state of Yucatan. It was built by the Maya people of the Post Classic. A variety of architectural styles are found in the archaeological site that depicts that in Maya World the city may have the most diverse population. However only ruins of the city remain till date and according to an estimate 1.2 million tourists visit the ruins each year.

seven wonders of the modern world

6) Machu Picchu, Peru

Machu Picchu meaning “Old Peak” was built with polished dry stone walls in the classical Inca style. It is located on a mountain ridge in Machupicchu District in Peru. There are three primary structures named “Inti Watana”, “Temple of the Sun” and “Room of the Three Windows” located in the Sacred District of Machu Picchu (as called by archaeologists). Machu Picchu was brought to international attention by American historian Hiram Bingham in 1911 before which it was unknown to the world. It has been reconstructed and restored to keep it alive for tourist attraction.

new seven wonders of the world

7) Taj Mahal, India

Located in Agra, Uttar Pradesh, India, Taj Mahal was built between 1632 and 1653. Mughal emperor Shah Jahan built this monument in the memory of his third wife Mumtaz. The architect behind the design of the royal structure was Ustad Ahmad Lahauri. Thousands of artisans and craftsmen took part in the construction of the complex structure. Taj Mahal is famous for its white doomed marble mausoleum. A team of architects including Abd ul-Karim Ma’mur Khan, Makramat Khan and the principle designer himself were entrusted for the supervision of Taj Mahal construction. It is the mixture of Islamic, Persian, Turkish, Ottoman and Indian architectural styles. It is recognized worldwide as the jewel of Muslim art in India. It is indeed one of the master pieces of world heritage.

new seven wonders of the world

Do leave your comments here for letting us know which other things you wanna see on this blog. also provide your feedback regarding this post. I hope you would also like The Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Thanks for visiting us,


  1. Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *